Chapter 43. The bad mother´s club

I like going on vacation with my girlfriends. Normally we travel as far as we can to forget about our responsabilities, included kids. While on vacation we drink margaritas, we smoke, we tan and we go clubbing like we used to.

There is a certain sense of irreverence in the whole child free vacation booking and vacation planning process that I find quite liberating because every since I became a mother, a part of my old self is gone. This time for myself with my girlfriends reminds me of who I used to be and puts me back in touch with my inner world. Some use meditation for that, but let´s be honest, when you are busy being a mother of two you barely have time to remove your make up before going to bed. I find myslef applying make up in my car every morning when I drop my two year old off at daycare. I either do that or use the red light time to the extent that I wish for the light at the traffic light to go red so I can finish my production process.  By the time I get to the office I have no idea of how I actually look…

When I had my first son I was able to keep my own space for a while. I would leave him with my mother or with a baby sitter or with my mother in law to go out to dinner or to drinks with my friends. I felt no remorse at all. I would leave him for a long weekend to go to the Caribbean with my husband, get some sun, a nice tan and some couple time as well. While there, I did not miss my son like most mothers say they do. That is when I decided to join the bad mother´club.

Bad mothers enjoy motherwood without giving up on all the fun altogether. Bad mothers trade the perfect immaculate diaper bag for a sexy outfit. Bad mothers breastfeed for a few months only because they hate getting up in the middle of the night and because they enjoy a cold beer in a summer afternoon just as much as dad does. Bad mothers like to go back to work and feel that staying at home with baby only works to a point.

I love my children don´t get me wrong, and the older I get the more I am willing to spend my time with them as opposed to with other people. But after too many days watching Sponge Bob and Peppa Pig´s episodes over and over, I really need a break.

Who is with me?

Leave a Reply

